Return to site

Allergen-Free Easter Candies That Everybunny Can Enjoy

April 05, 2022

One of the sweetest parts of celebrating Easter is diving into your Easter basket to enjoy your favorite candies. Maybe you’re a chocoholic and you love chocolate eggs or a giant chocolate bunny every year. Perhaps you’re more of a traditionalist and a handful of Jordan almonds is your favorite springtime sugar fix. Maybe you head straight for jellybeans or peeps to satisfy your sweet tooth. 


Everyone has their favorites when it comes to Easter candy, but some of us also have specific dietary preferences, restrictions, and sensitivities. And while finding some tasty treats to meet different diets might take a little extra effort, it doesn’t mean that you need to go without indulging at Easter. Below are some easy to find candies that everybunny can enjoy this Easter. 




1. Gluten-free candy

Having gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, and celiac disease are all reasons why you or someone you love might need to avoid products containing gluten. Luckily, as we learn more about how gluten adversely affects some people, we are also finding more gluten-free alternatives for your favorite foods. Easter candy is no exception! Here are some gluten-free sweets to keep your eye out for. 


  • Peeps 
  • Hershey’s kisses 
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Miniatures 
  • Starburst 
  • Cadbury Easter Creme Eggs 



2. Peanut, tree nut, and seed free candy

Allergies to peanuts, tree nuts, and seeds are some of the most common food allergies and unfortunately can also be the most serious. While some of those who suffer from these allergies may have mild to moderate reactions, exposure can be, unfortunately, lethal for some. If someone you love has a serious allergy to peanuts, tree nuts, or seeds, you may want to avoid putting candies that contain them in anyone’s Easter basket to play it safe. You might also want to warn others organizing or attending holiday gatherings that those kinds of treats should be avoided. Below are some candies that don’t contain peanuts, tree nuts, or seeds.


  • Tootsie Roll Eggs + Pops 
  • Andes Crème de Menthe Thin Mints 
  • Hershey’s Kisses  
  • Haribo gummies  
  • PEZ candies 



3. Vegan Candy 

More and more folks are shifting towards a plant based today these days. Some forgo animal products for allergies or other health reasons, while others do it to be more conscious of their carbon footprint. Avoiding candies that contain milk or egg products may be obvious when looking for vegetarian and vegan treats. But, there’s another animal byproduct found in many candies that often goes unnoticed: gelatin. Below are some sweets without animal byproducts to stuff in Easter baskets this spring. 


  • Dum Dums Easter Bunny Pops 
  • Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans 
  • Sour Patch Bunnies 
  • Annie's Organic Fruit Snacks 
  • Lindt Dark Chocolate Bunny 



Before you purchase any Easter candies for friends and family with food allergies or sensitivities, always double check food labels to read ingredient lists. Also make sure that even if your favorite candy doesn’t contain an allergen, that doesn’t mean it isn’t made in a facility that also processes allergens. 


For some, even the slightest possibility of cross-contamination can cause serious health issues. If you have any questions about specific products, contact the manufacturers or play it safe and find an alternative. Nobunny wants to have their Easter spoiled with candy they can’t eat! For more tips on how to celebrate the holidays all year long, don’t forget to subscribe to The Holiday Blog. 

Subscribe to The Holiday Blog

If you’re looking to sweeten up your Easter in a way that’s allergen and calorie free, you can also take some fun photos with Bunny. To find a location near you where you can create Bunny Magic, visit 


Find Bunny Near You


About Author

Subscribe to our newsletter & stay updated